Partial Or Total Knee Replacement

Knee replcacement models for total knee replacement.

Image from abcnews.com

Did you know there are different types of knee replacement surgeries? Of course there is the different hardware that is used by various knee replacement surgeons. However, until recently I didn’t know that there wasn’t only one actual type of knee replacements.

As I mentioned in the last article, my dad is preparing for double knee replacement surgery. I’ve taken it upon myself to get educated about what knee replacement actually is, and learn as much as possible in order to help my dad. And boy have I been learning a lot.

In this post, I’d like to explore a little about these two very different types of Chicago knee replacement surgery options.

Chicago Total Knee Replacement Surgery

So in a total knee replacement surgery, the damaged parts of the femur and tibia are removed. The bones are then reshaped and fitted with the metal and polyethylene components. The polyethylene is was helps the joint move smooth without little friction.

Chicago Partial Knee Replacement Surgery

Partial knee replacement surgery is a great option, apparently, if only one side of the knee has been damaged. In a partial knee replacement, the one side has the damaged or diseased portion of the knee removed, with the implants being added to just the one side. What I’m reading is this is less likely to damage the ACL, and leaves the good part of the knee still intact.

Unfortunately I wasn’t paying close enough attention to my dad to find out if he really needs to have total knee replacements, or could do with partials knee replacement, either on one or both knees. I sure hope the knee replacement surgeon discussed this with him in better detail, and it’ll be easy to find out when I speak with him next.

Has anyone experienced a partial knee replacement surgery, or known someone who has? I’d like to hear your insight on the differences between the two and your experiences. Drop me a line and let me know your thoughts.

